What syle fenders?

JBurlewski

Local time
2:21 AM
I am a newbie and I am restoring a Whizzer that my wife's grandmother gave me. Right now I am looking for fenders and don't know where to start. I want to try and stay original or close to it. I have attached a photo. Is the bike a Schwinn S4? Do I look for Whizzer fenders or Schwinn fenders? and where should I look? Next will be rims, any help on those would be appreciated. Thanks

Attachments

• whiz1.jpg
    whiz1.jpg
    126.3 KB · Views: 527
Hi JBurlewski,
I will gladly help you identify & locate any parts you need. I have a rather large collection of original NOS Whizzer parts, and offer some for sale. Some parts I am not willing to sell, but I can put you in contact with other collectors to supply any parts you may need.

99.9% of all vintage parts can be found; in fact it is easier to find parts for the vintage Whizzers compared to the new edition versions [1999 to 2009].

After looking at the picture of your bike, I doubt it is a WZ/S4 Schwinn. All WZ & S4 Schwinn had the frame "crimped" to clear the rear belt, and 99% had the extended brake arm. All had the HD spring on the front forks, front Schwinn brake, and factory bent pedal crank arms. Most had 12 ga [.105”] spokes with S-2 rims, however some had the 11 ga [.120”] spokes. Another clue is to look at the fender cutout for the belt; the WZ & S4 had a complete section removed to clear the belt, whereas modified fenders [as per the instructions in the kit] had 2 cutouts to clear the belt. All WZ & S4's were maroon with ivory trim. The maroon turns to a rusty looking brown over a long time, however the bottom of the fenders, inside the frame [steering frame tube, pedal crank housing, etc], inner chain guard, and any area covered up will maintain the vibrant maroon color.