Minnesota Motorized Bicycle Laws

Minnesota Motorized Bicycle Laws

Motorized bicycles are defined as mopeds by Minnesota law. A moped is defined as:
  • Possessing an electric motor
  • Having a liquid fuel motor with displacement less than 50cc.
  • Having 2bhp (brake horse power) or less.
  • A maximum speed of less than 30mph.
License

To ride a motorized bicycle in Minnesota you must have a valid drivers license. If you are at least 15 years old you can apply for a moped permit.

Registration

You must register a motorized bicycle to ride it on public roads in Minnesota.
  • You may not operate your motorized bicycle in bicycle lanes, trails, or on interstate freeways.
  • You must wear a helmet if you are under 18 years of age.
  • A working headlight and taillight is required to ride at nighttime. (Nighttime is defined as the period 30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise.)
Author
Anton
First release
Last update
Rating
0.00 star(s) 0 ratings

More resources from Anton


Top