Hi, a dreaded newbie here

Jroeby

Local time
3:15 AM
Hi yes I'm a noobie, in this field, I'm looking to build a motorized bike nothing fancy but one I'll be happy with. (don't roll your eyes yet) I'm sure the questions I have have been asked on this forum before ..

So what's the best motor to get?
LOL, just kidding. . I've started many serious hobbies and instead of even buying one thing I've found to ask experanced guys that's been through it all just might save me time and expense... I drive all day at work so I truly am intrested to use my motorized bike as primary transportation and a subject of intrest. I'm mechanical and general fabricator of sorts meaning I'm not a complete dummie.

I'm 5'11" 177lbs (if that matters) I'm not looking for speed but more reliability so the little I have been exposed to I'm thinking a 4 stroke motor to put on an average bike I might find on Craigslist, i.e. hybrid or simalar or a popular motor that's easy to get advise on .. I don't know one four stroke motor from another brand names Japanese American, i don't know, that's why I'm here maybe some advice of motors to stay away from or even if you think I'd be better off with a two stroke motor for reasons unknown to me.
It's always hard to get use to a new forum so link suggestions for someone starting out would be great the more the merrier otherwise I'll be milling around the Forum between work and home and sleep.
Please feel free to give me any suggestions and yes prices a consideration but durability trump's.

I'm sure I'll be thrown questions for reasons that I don't know what more info to supply you with . . I'm happy to be here.

Last edited:
Buy a Grubee Skyhawk kit and a $50 Craigslist bike. Your cheapest, quickest and most reliable way in.
$250 and a Saturday afternoon and you are riding. If you outgrow it, you can sell it for that much.
56517-7e03643b2e1be7d626199e25db9efef0.jpg