New guy from Texas, yeeha

manfrommarrs

Local time
7:13 PM
Hey guys,
I'm new to motorized biking although I have some ideas of what I want. Let me start by saying I'm a big guy, 6'2" and 295 (on a good day!). I'm 52 yrs old and my Dr. AND my wife have been on my butt to loose weight because of my heart condition. A quadriple bypass in 1995 that started everything off. Since 2000, 7 angioplasties and 8 stents. Let me stress that I'm not an invalid, I had a Fuji Absoloute bike I recently sold on Craigs list. I think it would be cool to have a motorized bike to tootle around on and to get some exercise WITHOUT wearing myself out. I'm thinking about a WORKSMAN heavy duty bike with a motor on it. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I've built a few of the Worksmans....they take up to 6 weeks to get delivered, you can specify your options on their website or order it through your bikeshop. Dave Staton could also help you on the order, IF you can get him on the phone.

With the heavy duty-ness of the trike, plus your weight, I'd rec. the Stanton PAV-3 (speed) kit with the Honda 50cc, with the "middle" number of sprocket teeth.

(In other words, your area of Texas not having mountains means you don't need ultimate torque, and even if you get the sprocket with the highest number of teeth, you really don't want to run at full speed).

Having just returned from Austin (via Tyler ), I can envision how you will quickly want to head out on long rides, so I'd order the arm rests on the trike, and the largest detached gas tank Dave Staton offers, which fits in the basket.

Even the cupholder Worksman offers has more than one potential function.....

Attachments

• 2007_1005uptontrikes0021.JPG
    2007_1005uptontrikes0021.JPG
    112.9 KB · Views: 79
  • 2007_1005uptontrikes0003.JPG
    2007_1005uptontrikes0003.JPG
    104.4 KB · Views: 82
  • 2007_0326tricycle0022.JPG
    2007_0326tricycle0022.JPG
    93.7 KB · Views: 157
Thanks for your reply & input