To port or not to port??

Carl Walichnowski

Local time
4:33 AM
I'm not sure how my fellow motor bicyclists think but for me I'm constantly thinking "What can I do now?". I'm new to the hobby but I like it very much, obviously the riding is the #1 perk involved with the hobby but to also see better performance, one MPH at a time, well that provides a lot of enjoyment also. I'm sure a majority of MBers can relate to the happiness obtained with a sense of accomplishment from improving the overall performance of their motor bikes.
Now I'm at a point where I'll be enjoying my MB as it is, once my next part arrives and is installed it will be about a month before I'm looking to buy my next performance part. This is what I have so far:
66cc Grubee Skyhawk Gta5
Sprocket Adapter
Chain Tensioner
Typical NGK Plug
Expansion Chamber
CNC 6cc Racing Head
Carb (No name clone)
So I'm asking myself the question "What's Next" once again. I've seriously been considering buying a extra cylinder & piston to port & polish it. I have no experience with doing any porting so I'd love to find some videos for beginners on porting but my search continues. (Can anyone provide a link or something?) I was just on another thread where a member said he polished his head, this may be a thing to add to my To Do list.
Questions:
1) I'd like to eventually buy a Reed Valve, would this be my next logical performance mod to buy?
2) Does porting the cylinder improve performance drastically? How many MPH would it add? Could I get away with simply porting the piston and polishing the cylinder??
3) So say I port & polish to the best of my ability or simply buy one that's already done for me and I have myself a Reed Valve, would I then need an improved CDI?
I've asked like 100 questions on this forum and I've ALWAYS received educated responses from the experienced members, to me that is awesome, I appreciate it guys!!

just widen the ports to increase power but not change the top RPM.