Rich or Lean?

Almighty Crap

Local time
8:00 AM
I just built this bike not too long ago. I wanna know if my spark plug shows me if its too lean or rich. My fuel is 40 to 1 ratio and I'm aware you can move the clip on the carb to make it run more rich or Lean. It was middle on default and I moved it down to the more richer side. I drove it around for a good 5 min to see the result I get. And I'm not sure what the spark plug is indicating because I'm kind of new to this stuff. Also my bike can only top out about 20 or 18 mph. I don't know if it's my exhaust pipe robbing all the power or it's the carb needle. Please help and I would be happy for answers!

Attachments

• 20230613_213617.jpg
    20230613_213617.jpg
    47.8 KB · Views: 109
  • 20230613_213634.jpg
    20230613_213634.jpg
    126.9 KB · Views: 101
  • 20230613_213643.jpg
    20230613_213643.jpg
    87.7 KB · Views: 96
I drove it around for a good 5 min to see the result I get.......I'm not sure what the spark plug is indicating because I'm kind of new to this stuff
5 minutes was just about long enough to just get it warmed up, but not long enough to even begin checking the spark plug just yet.

Your spark plug is not indicating anything as you have not ridden it far enough or long enough.

Try that one again but give it at least a half hour this time.

As far as top end speed is concerned, I have never seen it where those poo poo exhuast pipes do any good whatsoever in that department, you would actually get more top end with the stock pipe...A smaller rear sprocket will also help out for better speed but its a trade off as you won't have as much low end torque.

Also, is that an after market head or the one that came with the engine kit???