105V DC trike?

Local time
5:27 AM
I'm thinking on an electric trike project next. I'm a 4 stroke gas bike guy, but I'm sensing which way the wind blows.
Has anyone ever tried a 100V DC motor like you find on a treadmill? Dang thing produces over 2HP I've had it turning over 9000 RPM. (Gonna need some SERIOUS gear reduction) . First project electric, I wanna keep costs down, I thought maybe a couple (few) Greenworks 40v, in pairs, for 80v power supply? And if I do that, would I use a more readily available controller, 72 or 84. I haven't really seen any off the shelf controller for 100+ volts. Maybe saw a custom, built , on a 96v. But that's been a long time. Can I get controllers at 100V +?
Like I said, I'm trying to go lowbuck here. I alreadyhqhwvthe trike, it has the extra sprocket on the axle. So, controller?, battery?, Gear reduction/drivetrain? And the the few odds and ends that every build needs?
Is that it, or am I missing a bunch cuz im a rookie (electric anyway).?
Any and all feedback, from "GENIOUS" to "Hey! Stupid...." Is always appreciated.
Zeke.

Welcome! I haven't built an E Bike before, but if you are going this direction you could probably rob the control parts from a kids power wheels.

I could get you close on the controls with more info on the motor. Is it a permanent magnet dc motor? Or is does it have terminals for field windings? That changes a lot. I've used a permanent magnet in class and they are dead simple to wire and control.

Thanks for the help. It IS a permmag, DC motor. I have a controller of sorts for AC 120, potentiometer type speed controller, thebbridge rectifier to DC, thru a choke that I got with the motor off the original treadmill. Works good but speed control is AC. Problem I'm seeming to have is finding a speed controller that can handle that kind of DC voltage, not to mention the amps. I suspect, under load, I could see spikes of 30-40 amps or more, and sustained possibly half that... That's a lot of heat when it's DC.