Need some Thoughts and Opinions

Pugs75

Local time
9:57 PM
Good Morning,
Have a question and would like some Opinions and thoughts. I have been running a Zeda 80 for over two years now, it has never given me an issue and runs great. If i had to estimate miles, I would say 1k ish. Long story short I went to run it yesterday and it wouldn't start, started to smell fuel so I figured i flooded it, came back to the house and while pushing it up the driveway I noticed the clutch didn't feel right. I took the clutch cover off and a splash of fuel and oil came out. Well I figured the crank seal went bad, the fuel was all over the clutch and pads, hence the clutch issue. Cleaned everything up and turned the crank and could see some more fuel coming from the seal.
My question is, would you split the case and put new seals in and just go on, or would you do a rebuild?? If I am going to tear it down I would replace all the bearings and seals, new clutch pads and gaskets. Would you also do the top end as well or just the bottom? Again it runs like a champ no upper issues. Another question would you just purchase another new kit and keep this as a spare for parts?? Any helpful responses would be great, Im kinda leaning new, but would really wouldnt mind opening it up, I love fixing stuff and learning even in my 50's, your never to old to learn!!

I would just change the seal if your engine was running great before the seal failed.
It probably only needs a new seal.
Either or both seals can be replaced without splitting the cases.

Remove the bevel gear with the kit tool then carefully remove the bad seal. You do not want to scar the crankshaft or case in the process.

Everyone has their way of doing this...I drill a 1/16" hole in the center of the seal wall face then use a hook I made from a nail to pull the seal right out.