Exhaust DEI Exhaust Wrap - advice?

Lorin

Local time
6:03 PM
Hello & DEI Exhaust Wrap - advice?

Hello All,
Mine is an 80cc engine from Powerking on a Giant Mountain bike. As everyone of these things is a really custom job and I'm a novice when it comes to gear-headedness, I had dude with his own shop install mine. He had to smash the frame to get the front mount on and take the front derailleur off, which sucked - but the engine runs great and I'm very pleased. I've ridden it up to the local video/ grocery store and I'm getting LOTS of stares. I'm definitely the first person in my city to cruise around on one of these. (I'm south of Nashville in Spring Hill, TN)

My question is about exhaust wrap. I ordered 15 feet of DEI wrap. I searched and found several threads talking about exhaust modifications, but I didn't see any that talked about using this particular kind of wrap. Has anyone used this? Is it tough getting it wrapped around the neck above the expansion chamber? Do you have to use a silicon spray? Any other tips?

Last edited:
Also, this thing jerks and sputters quite a bit at low speeds. It seems like it's gotten worse since I first got it. I keep going back and forth on the idle trying to find a sweet spot, but without success. Is there something else I'm not thinking of? Should I be concerned?

HI Lorin,

Slow speed jerking is somewhat "normal" (if you have ever driven a stick shift car or truck
imagine trying to drive it in second gear at a very slow speed....it will jerk too or stall out....same basic thing happening when you run really slow with a motored bike)..If you want to travel predominantly at slow speeds you will need to get a larger sprocket for the rear.

Header wrap is used sometimes on cars to reduce under hood temps, reduce burns when working under the hood, and is supposed to help scavenge the exhaust because the exhaust remains hotter for a longer time...

Hope this helps you....Have fun and ride safely.

Andrew