Help me pick a kit please!

greenjon

Local time
6:38 PM
Edit: I now have gear picked out and I have a build thread going on at https://motoredbikes.com/threads/fito-modena-gt-2-49cc-4g-t-belt-sbp-shift-kit.52394/
Thanks for the help; this forum is awesome!

Hi, I'm just learning about motorized bikes and I'd appreciate advice on picking a kit.
The most critical use of the cycle will be the 100 mile trip (each way) over my local mountain pass. I'll be climbing from about 1000 feet to about 6000 and then dropping back down. I'm not sure of the exact grade, but I could get that info if it matters.
I don't care much about top speed, since much of this will be a steep climb and the rest will be a white knuckled downhill run.
I'm looking for a kit that can handle the steep grade for the hour or two it'll take to climb.
This is California so I'm limited to 4 HP if I understand correctly.
Please recommend general suggestions on what to look for or what to avoid, or specific kits, or even specific bikes that come already motorized. I'm limited to around $500 I suppose.
Thanks all! Great community here, I'm just having trouble wrapping my head around all the options.

Last edited:
Get the basic stock kit and maybe a 48 tooth gear. Bicycle_motor_works is a good dealer on eBay, there are others too but stick with what you know right? At least he manually checks all his parts before shipping so you'll have something reliable for the trip.

Buy some new brake pads and adjust them well, you'll minimize the chances they'll fail on either trip down. Good luck enjoy the view, since it's a mountain please wear your damn helmet.

you might want to consider a 4-stroke kit for greater dependability that far from home & tools

you might want to consider a 4-stroke kit for greater dependability that far from home & tools
Funny you mention that! I'm convinced that a 4-stroke would be worth the extra money!