Help! My Micargi chopper build needs brakes

Andrew DePiro

Local time
3:17 AM
So I built this Micargi Bronco chopper ..ive built many bikes but i'm really no expert on brakes ..rides good but it's gonna get me killed with just front brake..bike shop has no clue about that type of bike...they said cant disc brake the front because of the type of fork...rear has no brakes at all..price is not a problem..can someone recommend where to get brakes for the rear? maybe some kind of drum brake ? I had to have a pipe welded on frame it was a vibration nightmare..solved that issue.
thanks !

Attachments

• thumbnail_20170603_175221.jpg
    thumbnail_20170603_175221.jpg
    236.4 KB · Views: 385
drum on front might help, but all I can think of for back might be a wooden board to rub on tire

So I built this Micargi Bronco chopper ..ive built many bikes but i'm really no expert on brakes ..rides good but it's gonna get me killed with just front brake..bike shop has no clue about that type of bike...they said cant disc brake the front because of the type of fork...rear has no brakes at all..price is not a problem..can someone recommend where to get brakes for the rear? maybe some kind of drum brake ? I had to have a pipe welded on frame it was a vibration nightmare..solved that issue.
thanks !
I think I would make a bracket that extends from the kickstand bolt area to the place where the fender meets the top chainstays, then a small L bracket right angle deal to hold a side pull brake in that area between the 2 chains, might be one of the only ways other than a piece of wood..

thanks !
Disc break set up wouldn't be that hard just need a big rotor!The caliper mount can be affixed anywhere on the rear dropout.

Attachments

• 2017-06-21 01.21.34.jpg
    2017-06-21 01.21.34.jpg
    111.5 KB · Views: 150