Porting a china girl

johnsteve

Local time
9:00 AM
[FONT=Georgia, Times New Roman, Times, serif]So, I am thinking about porting my motor and I have never done any kind of porting work before. Hell I did not even know what porting was until I came here. First, I tried to call local machine shops that deal with motorcycles. They are like WHAT????????? What is a China Girl ? They had no idea. Another guy quoted me a price of about 750. That's a lot more than I want to spend so I am thinking about doing it myself. [/FONT]

[FONT=Georgia, Times New Roman, Times, serif]I also have been reading as much as I can from the forums and the dragonfly pages and I think this is what I should do. From what I have been reading I need to get a micrometer, and a hand dremmel with the bits. Then make the exit port about 21mm wide in the shape of an oval. Next the intake ports need to be expanded to less then 7mm which to me seems like a lot. The carbs come in at about 16mm[/FONT]

Other references point to taking off a small part of the skirt on the intake side and taking off part of the top of the piston on the exhaust side at an angle to about 2mm from the rings. Is taking off the lower part of the skirt on the piston and taking off a small part of the top of the piston the best way to achieve low end torque and a better midrange? Is there anything I am leaving out? Would this be the right way to port? Inquire minds want to know

Study up before attempting any port work; there are many good videos on youtube. It's easy to go overboard and kill your low-end torque. I'd do a port cleanup, for starters, there's lots of casting flash and roughness, that'll make a noticeable difference. Don't change the shape of the port, that's where beginners get in trouble. Port-matching is another thing that is easy to do and makes for a smoother-running engine. Most people port for high rpm, if you are riding around for transportation, that stuff is a waste of time.