Help!! I don't know what to do!

JaredL

Local time
9:58 AM
Hi, I am a beginner to all of this kind of stuff, so excuse me if I have to describe what something is if I don't know the name.

So I bought my bike off a guy who builds bikes for a living (he has done it for 8 years so he knows what he is doing). I texted him about this issue and he doesn't know what it directly is either.

This is everything that I'm having issues with:

The bike is a 80cc 2 stroke that runs on a 20:1 ratio (91 Fuel : 2 Stroke Engine Oil)

It worked fine for the first few weeks. It has around 70-80 miles on it. In the past few days, I can ride it, but at any random time (never got it over 20 minutes) it will stutter when I hold the throttle, but when I hold the clutch, the engine goes for throttle. When I get it to stop, sometimes the rear tire will drag. Sometimes it wont, maybe a coincidence.

The gas tube between the tank and the engine just started slightly leaking out the top.

It takes about 200-500 feet to start, it always has.

Again, I'm a beginner, so please describe the best you can. I just need help!

Thank you,
JaredL

He's been building these for years and doesn't know they aren't 80 cc and can't diagnose something simple , I'd say he's a liar , anyway back to the problem when you initially start e engine it idles fine? Or does it rev up straight away? Tighten the clamp holding the carb on also check the tightness or all nuts and bolts .

seems that you should have him look at it - things get loose and out of adjustment when a bike is new - 20:1 is usually only for the first tank or two of fuel, with 32:1 used thereafter (91 octane usually isn't needed either)

Ya I think he was lying, some of the things didn't add up.

Anyways, I'll try those recommendations for sure. I actually read similar problems and most said the spark plug or gasket could have something to do with it.