a noob want /needs to know about the kits to buy

wildone

Local time
9:40 PM
whats the best kit for a total noob to get started with and are they pretty much about the same motor and hardware other than the head and carb upgrade in some kits

Your asking a loaded ?, kinda like talking politics. No best or worse, you'll get 30 different views for your answer. What are you looking for in a kit and what are you willing to do. Some kits are upgraded by the vendor and are ready to go, others will need upgrades to be dependable. What is your budget, bike style, purpose for riding etc.

Yeah, darwin is right in that it's hard to say just what is 'best'.

One way to look at it is to say that, maybe, the two cycle Chinese "Happy Time" engines and kits are the best simply because their inexpensive. That's a good way for a newbie to get familiar with motorized bikes without putting too much money at risk. That's the way that most of us get started and that's still my preferred drive train.

Others could argue that various 4 cycle engines and kits are best because of durability and reliability. Fair enough. You just gotta bring more money to the table.

But I can say this much; even the very cheapest kits are good enough for anyone who's willing to tinker with his bike and get his hands dirty. They'll aggravate you along the way, too. But that's just in the nature of the game.

Well wish me luck i got one online on ebay it a 80cc or so the add said.. I m gonna install it on my Diamondback.. its a fitting end of a bike i paid less than 20 bucks for. I got it figured i m out less than a couple of hundred buck if it dont work well and in the money if it does.. perhaps by this time next year i will be writing how to's on port timing and easy breezy hop up mods a guy can do at home.. so anyway i m hoping this turns out well ill keep ya posted

Great! We're glad you're taking the plunge. I doubt if you'll be sorry.

Life is good when you're riding a bike like these.