Another view of the 'moped' problem

trawe

Local time
11:03 PM
Being a retired mechanical engineer, I trust my view on the legality of riding an engine assisted bicycle might be of help to someone.

From briefly viewing replies on this website and the laws, which constantly want us all to be 'mopeds', I seem to feel the laws may not quite be applicable. I see a 'moped' as a nickname of the motored pedal bicycle. I also see the 'enginped' as a nickname of the engined pedal bicycle. These two are quite different in reality - see if you agree.

If I may , a picture. Under the hood of an auto is an engine. Usually there is only one engine under each hood. However, there may be several motors - windshield wiper motor, fan motor, fuel pump motor, heater fan motor, etc. Now none of the motors are plugged into the fuel tank and the engine is not plugged into the battery. Engines convert chemical energy in fuel into power in the combustion chamber, while motors convert electrical energy from batteries or generators into power on the armature. Motors and engines operate by different principles of design, although the law tries to make us 'enginpeds' into 'mopeds'. Maybe we have the 'moped' name because of our ancesters, who wrote many of the laws. And we seem to suffer sometimes because there is simply bias against us assisted bicycle riders by the makers of the laws and enforcers of the laws (see BICYCLING & THE LAW, by Bob Mionski, JD, chap. 5)

Perhaps this view on the subject just might help clarification and better definition in the laws, thereby removing those grey areas of personal interpretation by the police officers and judges.