PLEASE NEED HELP ASAP with the magneto side oil seal and the little spring inside PLEASE!!!!

Nate Livingood

Local time
10:35 PM
So I am doing maintenance on my engine (Half Breed66cc). this is my first time taking the clutch assembly COMPLETELY apart for a deep clean and grease. My engine has always ran like a top until here recently I noticed more vibration and It just doesn't sound right and acting normally. When you ride something everyday you can just tell when something isn't right. Anyway, to get to my problem I took the seal off the main drive gear greased it and replaced the seal no problem. Then I took the little gear off and saw what I thought was a regular seal like the first one except it look kind Ove melted like it got hot. so I go to prying and wiggling and I'm thinking I just discovered the problem this bearing is fried and I thought I was pulling the whole bearing out.....NO it was the oil seal I now know. but somewhere in the prying and pulling I broke the little spring and I have no clue what it's function is or if it is necessary to have it at all??? So can someone shed some light on this for me. What is the function of this spring? Is it necessary to get your spark and if so how to re-install it and Can I rig this spring up by twisting the ends together Until I can get a new one? Please anyone who has knowledge on this subject shed some on me because I thought I knew everything about my motor and apparently in the million times ive taken it apart I Never have taken the front bearings or oil seals out and ran across this little round spring. PLEASE HELP!!!!

It is part of the seal. The spring keeps the shape of the seal. You will need to get a new seal.

agree that spring is needed and should be replaced rather than fixed - normally, one NEVER takes seals off unless they are bad

in your post, I can't tell which seal it is (there are only two) and one is under the small bevel gear (which could be called main drive gear I suppose)